The Cathedral of the Virgin Mary (also known as Panagia Trimartiri) is the cathedral of Chania. It is located in Mitropoleos Square in the Old Town, left of Halidon Street as you go up to the Venetian Port.
The church was built in 1860 in the form of a three aisle basilica. It owes its name to the three aisles. The central one was dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the north one to Agios Nikolaos and the south to the Three Hierarchs. It was built on the site of an older church, which dates back to the 14th century. Around 1645, when Chania was occupied by the Turks, it was turned into a soap factory.
The unique architecture of the church was influenced by the Venetians, while the most distinctive features are on the east wall, which is decorated with large icons. The bell was donated by the Czar of Russia who restored the church after the 1897 revolution as an apology to the town of Chania for the Russian bombardment of Akrotiri.
Today the large paved courtyard in front of the church is a meeting point for locals and visitors alike.